Emergency Nurses Association Bestows Record 22 Emergency Departments with Prestigious Lantern Award

June 27, 2017 Awards News
Des Plaines, Ill. – The Emergency Nurses Association today announced 22 emergency departments are receiving the prestigious Lantern Award™. The award recognizes emergency departments that exemplify exceptional practice and innovative performance in the core areas of leadership, practice, education, advocacy and research.

Emergency department patients and their families seek quick access, meaningful interactions with the healthcare team, and a coordinated plan. The Lantern Award serves as a visible symbol to patients that excellence is valued and that exceptional care is provided in the recipient’s emergency department. It illuminates an emergency department’s commitment to quality, safety, presence of a healthy work environment, and accomplishment in incorporating evidence-based practice and innovation into exceptional emergency care.

“Every year we acknowledge departments that meet rigorous standard in leadership, practice, education, advocacy and research,” said ENA President Karen K. Wiley, MSN, RN, CEN. “The fact that 22 emergency departments have met these standards and more in 2017 speaks volumes to the outstanding work in emergency departments across the country.”

2017 Lantern Award recipients are:
Bethesda Arrow Springs Emergency Department (Lebanon, OH)
Children's Healthcare of Atlanta - Egleston Emergency Department (Atlanta, GA)
CHOC Children’s Hospital - Julia and George Argyrus Emergency Department (Orange, CA)
Cleveland Clinic Florida Emergency Department (Weston, FL)
Connecticut Children's Medical Center (Hartford, CT)
Edward Hospital Emergency Department (Naperville, IL)
Franciscan Health - Indianapolis Emergency Department (Indianapolis, IN)
Marc and Laura Andreessen Emergency Department at Stanford Health Care (Stanford, CA)
Medical University of South Carolina Children’s Health Emergency Department (Charleston, SC)
Michigan Medicine – C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital – Children’s Emergency Services (Ann Arbor, MI)
Naval Medical Center Camp Lejeune (Camp Lejeune, NC)
Nemours Children's Hospital Emergency Department (Orlando, FL)
Northwest Community Hospital Emergency Department (Arlington Heights, IL)
Northwestern Medicine Lake Forest Hospital Emergency Department (Lake Forest, IL)
Overlook Medical Center Emergency Services, Union Campus, Atlantic Health System (Union, NJ)
Sharp Memorial Emergency Department (San Diego, CA)
Sibley Memorial Hospital/Johns Hopkins Medicine Emergency Department (Washington, DC)
Southwest General Health Center Emergency Department (Middleburg Heights, OH)
Swedish Medical Center Ballard Emergency Department (Seattle, WA)
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital Emergency Department – Jefferson Health (Philadelphia, PA)
UH Rainbow Babies and Children's Emergency Department (Cleveland, OH)
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC) Hamot Emergency Department (Erie, PA)

Award recipients will be recognized throughout the Emergency Nursing Conference 2017 in St. Louis and at a reception on Friday, Sept. 15.

The Lantern Award is named in honor of Florence Nightingale, who is credited with changing nursing from an untrained job to a skilled, science-based profession. She is referred to as the “Lady of the Lamp” for her actions during the Crimean War when she worked deep into the night, bringing a lantern with her as she tended to wounded British soldiers as they slept. 

The Lantern Award designation is valid for three years. Emergency departments can then reapply.

The Emergency Nurses Association is the premier professional nursing association dedicated to defining the future of emergency nursing through advocacy, education, research, innovation, and leadership. Founded in 1970, ENA has proven to be an indispensable resource to the global emergency nursing community. With 50,000 members worldwide, ENA advocates for patient safety, develops industry-leading practice standards and guidelines and guides emergency health care public policy. ENA members have expertise in triage, patient care, disaster preparedness, and all aspects of emergency care. Additional information is available at www.ena.org.