The Academy of Emergency Nursing was established by the Emergency Nurses Association on September 28, 2004 to honor emergency nurses who:

  • Have made enduring, substantial contributions to emergency nursing
  • Advance the profession of emergency nursing, including the healthcare system in which emergency nursing is delivered
  • Provide visionary leadership to ENA and AEN

The body of work left by AEN Fellows goes well beyond being an outstanding nurse and a devoted ENA member. To date, more than 130 extraordinary emergency nurses have been inducted into the AEN and proudly list FAEN as one of their professional credentials.

Directory of Fellows

2017 Fellows

Congratulations to the following emergency nurses who were inducted into the Academy of Emergency Nursing during the Emergency Nursing 2017 conference:

  • Kay-Ella Bleecher, MSN, RN, CRNP, APN, CEN
  • Deena Brecher, MSN, RN, ACNS-BC, CEN, CPEN
  • Alicia Dean, MSN, APRN, RN, CNS
  • Christina Dellinger, BSN, RN
  • Janis Farnholtz Provinse, MS, RN, CNS, CEN, TCRN
  • Kristie Gallagher, MSN, RN, CEN, EMS-I
  • Melanie Gibbons Hallman, DNP, CRNP, CEN, TRCN, FNP-BC, ACNP-BC
  • JoAnn Lazarus, MSN, RN, CEN
  • Annabelle May, BSN, RN
  • Timothy Murphy, MSN, RN, ACNP-BC, TCRN, CEN
  • Bruce Olson, MSN, RN, CEN, PHN
  • Matthew F. Powers, MS, BSN, RN, MICP, CEN
  • Kathleen Sanders Jordan, DNP, MS, RN, FNP-BC, ENP-BC, SANE-P
  • Sharon Vanairsdale, MS, APRN, SCNS-BC, NP-C, CEN
  • Mary Zaleski, DNP, RN, CEN

Becoming an AEN Fellow

The Academy of Emergency Nursing is not currently accepting applications. Please check back later in the year for applications.

Important Considerations

  • Applications are reviewed by the AEN Board of Directors and scored based on pre-determined criteria. Fellowship consideration is only based on the applicant’s application, CV, and letters of recommendation; no additional information is considered.
  • Applicants will receive a confirmation email from AEN once the application has been successfully completed 
  • Members of the ENA Board of Directors and ENA employees are ineligible for admission to the Academy and cannot write letters of recommendation 
  • AEN Fellows considering running for the AEN Board may not write letters of recommendation for Fellow candidates 
  • Failure to submit all the required materials by the application deadline disqualifies the applicant, and the partial submission will not be reviewed by the AEN Board. The applicant will be notified and the $100 application fee will not be processed. 
  • Applicants will be notified in March of the AEN Board’s decision. All decisions are final, and no explanation of decisions will be provided to applicants or sponsors.
Academy Guidelines

AEN Board

2017 Chairperson

Gordon Gillespie, PhD, RN, CEN, CPEN, PHCNS-BC, FAEN, FAAN


2017 Chairperson-elect 
Nancy Denke, DNP, ACNP, CEN, FAEN


2017 Member at Large 
Stephen Stapleton, PhD, MS, RN, CEN, FAEN


2017 Member at Large 
Vicki Patrick, MS, RN, CEN, ACNP-BC, FAEN



Immediate Past Chairperson 
Reneé Semonin Holleran, PhD, APRN, FNP-BC, CCRN, CEN, CFRN, CTRN, FAEN



If you would like to contact an AEN Board member, please email

Working to promote safe practice and safe care.