Accessing the Elections Facebook Event Page

National election voting will be held Tuesday, May 12 to Wednesday, June 10, 12:00 pm CDT

Click on each candidate’s name below to “Meet the Candidate”

​ ​ View Ca​ndidate​​​​s For:​ ​
​​ President-elect Secretary/Treasurer Director Nominations and Elections Committee 

Cand​idates for President-Elect

(Term: January 2016 – December 2016)

The President-Elect presides at all meetings, and performs the duties and exercises the powers of the president in the event of the president’s inability or refusal to serve. The President-Elect succeeds to office of president at the expiration of the president’s term.


Ellen (Ellie) H. Encapera, RN, CEN


Karen K. Wiley, MSN, RN, CEN

Candidate for Secretary/Treasurer

(Term: January 2016 – December 2016)

The Secretary/Treasurer ensures that all meeting records are maintained. He/she monitors the fiscal affairs of ENA and provides reports and interpretations of ENA’s financial condition. The Secretary/Treasurer presents recommendations from the Finance Committee to the ENA Board of Directors.



Candidates for Director

(Term: January 2016 – December 2018) 

Seven Directors serve on the ENA Board of Directors along with three officers, the Immediate Past President, and Executive Director.


The Board is the official governing body of ENA responsible for managing the affairs of ENA. They maintain and update ENA’s mission, vision and goals through strategic planning; set policies to govern and guide the association; and serve as board liaisons to states as assigned.


Members will vote for three directors this year.


Marylou Killian, DNP, RN, CEN, FNP-BC


Deborah A. Clark, MS, BSN, RN, CEN, CPEN


Sally K. Snow, BSN, RN, CPEN, FAEN


Matthew A. Choate, MBA, BSN, RN, CEN


Sondra Heaston, MS, APRN, CEN, CNE, NP-C


Pat Clutter, MEd, RN, CEN, FAEN


Michael A. Hastings, MS, RN, CEN




Gordon Lee Gillespie, PhD, RN, CEN, CPEN, CNE, PHCNS-BC, FAEN


J. Jeffery Jordan, MS, MBA, RN, EMT-LP, CNE, FAEN


Stephen J. Stapleton, PhD, MS, RN, CEN, FAEN


Margaret J. Carman, DNP, RN, ACNP-BC, ENP-BC


Maureen Curtis Cooper, BSN, RN, CEN, CPEN, FAEN

Candidates for Nominations and Elections Committee

(Term: September 2015 – October 2017)

The Nominations and Elections Committee is responsible for developing election rules to facilitate elections and oversees the election process. The committee consists of seven voting members. Committee members may only represent the region in which they hold a voting membership.


All voting members are eligible to vote for one candidate each from three different geographic regions and the past board member position.


Click here for the regional map.



Karen Silady, MN, RN, CEN


Daniel R. DiDonato, BSN, RN, CEN



Kristie Noelle Gallagher, MSN, RN, CEN, NRP



Ryan Oglesby, PhD, MHA, RN, CEN, NEA-BC


Sonny Ruff, DNP, RN, CEN, FNP-C



Mary Ellen (Mel) Wilson, MS, RN, CEN, COHN-S, FNP-C, FAEN​


NOTE: All information contained within each Meet the Candidates page are posted exactly as submitted by the candidate


 Video Disclaimer

Due to technical issues beyond ENA’s control, video from the Candidates Election Forum earlier this year is of very poor quality. ENA and the Nominations and Elections Committee recognize the importance of ensuring ENA members have the capability to learn as much about the candidates prior to voting in the election. We received an apology from audio visual vendor GES and regret the error.​