Awards Honor 18 for Contributions to Journal of Emergency Nursing

August 2, 2023 JEN journal of emergency nursing

ENA recognizes researchers, reviewers and a special contributor to its peer-reviewed journal 


SCHAUMBURG, Ill. (Aug. 2, 2023) – The Emergency Nurses Association on Wednesday announced 18 recipients of the 2023 Journal of Emergency Nursing Awards, including the authors of two papers, two reviewers and a special contributor.

The 2023 recipients made significant contributions to JEN, ENA’s peer-reviewed journal that features original research and updates from the emergency nursing field, covering practice and professional issues. The recipients were chosen by the editorial board and approved by the ENA Board of Directors.

“The editorial team at JEN is grateful to the award winners for their substantial contributions to the journal and the emergency nursing profession,” said Anna Valdez, JEN editor-in-chief. 

This year’s JEN Author of the Year Award recipients are: 

  • James Glatts, BSN, RN, CEN, of Pennsylvania; Jacob Weissenburger, MSN, RN, ACCNS-AG, CCRN, of Pennsylvania; Margaret Mullen-Fortino, PhD, MSN, of Pennsylvania; Leighann Mazzone, MSN, RN, CEN, of New Jersey; and Pamela Z. Cacchione, PhD, CRNP, BC, FGSA, FAAN, of Pennsylvania for their clinical paper, “Patient Extrication Process for Urban Emergency Departments.”
  • Lisa Wolf, PhD, RN, CEN, FAEN, FAAN, of Illinois; Cydne Perhats, MPH, CHES; Altair Delao, MPH, of Illinois; Christian N. Burchill, PhD, RN, of Pennsylvania; Paul Clark, PhD, RN, FAEN, of Indiana; Michael Callihan, PhD, RN, of North Carolina; Courtney Edwards, DNP, RN, of Texas; Stephanie Frisch, PhD, RN, of Pennsylvania; Michael Moon, PhD, RN, FAEN, of Texas; and Tania Strout, PhD, RN, of Maine, for their research paper, “Role and Training of Emergency Department Charge Nurses: A Mixed Methods Analysis of Processes, Needs, and Expectations.”

The JEN Reviewers of the Year are Josh Wall, PhD, RN, CEN, CFRN, of Utah, and Amber Adams, DNP, RN, CEN of Texas. The reviewers are recognized for their knowledge, dependability and ability to give constructive feedback on a regular basis.


In addition, Gordon Gillespie, PhD, DNP, RN, CEN, CNE, CPEN, PHCNS-BC, FAEN, FAAN, of Ohio, was honored with the editorial board’s inaugural award for significant contributions, which recognized his work as interim editor-in-chief in 2022 and as guest editor of the May 2023 issue focused on workplace violence.

 “JEN is an exceptional publication. It’s an invaluable source of research that can drive best practices in emergency nursing, from direct patient care through department operations, all backed by evidence,” said ENA President Terry Foster, MSN, RN, CCRN, TCRN, CPEN, CEN, FAEN. “The authors and reviewers recognized this year are perfect examples of the talented nurses in academia and the ED who are working to advance our profession.”

This year’s Journal of Emergency Nursing Award recipients will be formally recognized during Emergency Nursing 2023 in San Diego next month.


The Emergency Nurses Association is the premier professional nursing association dedicated to defining the future of emergency nursing through advocacy, education, research, innovation, and leadership. Founded in 1970, ENA has proven to be an indispensable resource to the global emergency nursing community. With 50,000 members worldwide, ENA advocates for patient safety, develops industry-leading practice standards and guidelines and guides emergency health care public policy. ENA members have expertise in triage, patient care, disaster preparedness, and all aspects of emergency care. Additional information is available at

ENA Media Contact

Dan Campana

Director of Communications