ENA Lantern Award

The ENA Lantern Award recognizes emergency departments that demonstrate exceptional and innovative performance in leadership, practice, education, advocacy and research — a way to showcase your ED’s accomplishments in incorporating evidence-based practice and innovation into emergency care, and a visible symbol of your commitment to quality, safety, and a healthy work environment.

The Lantern Award is not easy to achieve, but once won, the Lantern Award designation is your ED’s for three years, and you may apply again.      

Your Lantern Award Story

The Lantern Award application asks you to tell your story. What you are proud of and what you do well is the story we want to hear.


The Lantern Award application includes quantitative questions that focus on performance and outcome metrics, as well as qualitative questions about noteworthy practices and attributes of your emergency department. The qualitative questions require brief narratives or longer descriptive exemplars that highlight your emergency department’s excellence and innovation.

Your story, as you define it in your application, will cover each of these core areas:

  • Leadership – Practice: qualities that foster professional pride, confidence and a community of support for emergency nurses
  • Leadership – Operations: operational improvement activities and development of systems and processes
  • Education: instilling knowledge and competency through quality and accessible education
  • Advocacy: how the future of the emergency nursing profession and quality patient care are influenced through advocacy and innovation in your emergency department
  • Research – Practice: advancing the emergency nursing profession and practice through quality improvement, research and the evaluation of clinical outcomes.

Lantern Award recipients receive a physical award to display in their emergency department as well as recognition through ENA publications and conferences, and the ENA website. In addition, award recipients are entitled to use an official Lantern Award seal in communications and advertising for the duration of the award period (e.g., in email signatures, on your website and in advertisements).

The Lantern Award is open to all emergency departments who complete the application process and provide the required documentation as requested in the application. The award period is three years and recipients have the option of re-applying at the end of their award period. The application form is available online and must be completed online.



Getting Started

The 2019 application is now closed

The first step on your journey to the Lantern Award is to review the Handbook, the Coaching Guide, and the FAQs completely to determine whether you can provide the measures and stories of excellence that are required to become an award winner. Application fees associated with this award are defined in the Lantern Award Handbook.

Application fee: $3,000 for all hospitals

After clicking the submit button at the end of your application, you will be provided with information regarding payment of the application fee. You may pay online with a credit card or you may print an invoice and mail final payment to ENA. The completed invoice must accompany the check. Payment is due 14 days following the submission deadline.

Submission deadline was: Monday, February 25, 2019, 12:00 pm CST



The resources here will provide instructions, answer your questions, and inspire you.

On-Demand eLearning

Find a Lantern ED

Video Testimonials

Lantern Award Recipients


A browser other than Internet Explorer (i.e., Google Chrome, Firefox Mozilla or Apple Safari) must be used. As Microsoft no longer supports all versions of IE, the online application will not function in the IE browser.

Using the IE browser will result in problems in entering your responses. A different browser must be used. In addition, if a hospital is not using IE, but is having difficulty entering responses, it may be due to:

The responses are over the allotted word count. Edit your responses and try to copy/paste again.

  • It is recommended that applicants develop their responses in a word processing program such as Microsoft Word, use spell-check, then copy/paste responses into the online application.
  • Do not format your responses (e.g., underline, bold, italics, etc.). All text is automatically converted into block text within the application.

The hospital's firewall. If the firewall has disabled JavaScript, the full functionality of the application may be blocked at the applicant's side. To get around this issue:

  • The applicant should escalate a support case to their facility IT department to validate the firewall issue.
  • If validated, they will need to request an exclusion or temporary exception from whatever IT policy is negatively impacting their browser's functions for any/all persons needing to access and use the application.
  • If the applicant's IT department is unable, unwilling, or otherwise prevented from allowing exclusions or exceptions to policy, this group may not be able to use their facility equipment to use the application. It is recommended that, in such a case, the applicant(s) use non-managed and/or personal computer equipment to continue using the application.

Application Assistance