ENA Achievement Awards

achievement_body_400ENA Achievement Awards recognize individuals who exemplify exceptional performance in professional practice, innovation, leadership, and/or advocacy. ENA Achievement Award recipients have been described as role models, mentors, and emergency nursing at its finest.

This is your opportunity to recognize innovators, leaders, and those who continually go above and beyond the call of duty. Do you know someone who has made outstanding contributions to emergency nursing and deserves to join this exclusive and prestigious group?

Frequently asked questions

ENA Achievement Awards Handbook

Award Categories

Please Note:

Only one complete submission form (2 narratives may be submitted separately) per nominee will be accepted.

If multiple individuals wish to contribute content, we suggest drafting a MS Word document; the "nominator" can then copy content into the nomination form and submit on behalf of the group.


  • Clinical Nurse Specialist Award: recognizes excellence as a clinical nurse specialist in the emergency care setting. The CNS is recognized by the emergency department staff as an expert, in practice or education, who makes significant contributions to practice or to the professional development of others.
  • Frank L Cole Nurse Practitioner Award: recognizes excellence as a nurse practitioner in emergency care. The NP is recognized by peers, nursing and physician colleagues, and patients as a clinical expert who delivers compassionate, competent care in an emergency care setting. The recipient is actively involved in promoting the role of NPs and strengthening the image of NPs in emergency care.
  • Nurse Manager Award: recognizes a nurse in an emergency nursing management role who has consistently demonstrated excellence in the profession of emergency nursing and has made significant contributions
  • Nurse Researcher Award: recognizes an individual nurse who has made significant contributions to the profession of nursing or the specialty of emergency nursing by conducting research, disseminating research findings or using research to improve outcomes
  • Nursing Competency in Aging Award: recognizes a nurse who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to the care of the older adult in the emergency care setting and/or the older adult in a community program
  • Nursing Practice and Professionalism Award: recognizes a nurse who exemplifies outstanding nursing practice as demonstrated through clinical skills, care and compassion. This nurse is recognized by peers as an expert in emergency nursing and consistently exhibits traits associated with professional behavior and commitment to professional values. This individual may demonstrate outstanding commitment to a specialty population such as pediatrics or older adults within the specialty of emergency nursing.
  • Pediatric Readiness Improvement Award: recognizes a nurse who has demonstrated outstanding efforts to improve readiness in caring for children in the emergency care setting.


  • Barbara A Foley Quality, Safety and Injury Prevention Award: recognizes a nurse who has developed, implemented or advocated for quality, safety and/or injury prevention initiatives that have resulted in improved outcomes in the emergency care setting or at the local, state or national level
  • Gail P. Lenehan Advocacy Award: recognizes a nurse who has had a positive impact on emergency nurses through a sustained commitment of advocacy for emergency nurses’ well-being and welfare or the welfare of vulnerable populations
  • Nursing Education Award: recognizes a nurse who has made significant contributions to the education of colleagues, nursing students, EMS personnel, patients, families and/or the community through the publication of articles, formal or informal courses or the development of a specific emergency nursing program or curriculum
  • Rising Star Award: recognizes a new ENA member (member less than five years) who has made a significant contribution to ENA as exhibited by promotion of ENA as the professional organization for emergency nurses at the local, state or national level

Special Categories

  • Judith C. Kelleher Award: This award, named after one of ENA’s co-founders, honors a member of ENA who has consistently demonstrated excellence in emergency nursing and has made significant contributions to the profession and to ENA. The award is presented at the Anita Dorr luncheon during ENA’s Emergency Nursing Conference.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: honors a nurse whose career achievements reflect dedicated service, accomplishments and/or contributions to emergency nursing that have value to emergency nursing beyond the recipient’s lifetime


  • Behind the Scenes Award: recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions, behind the scenes, to promote ENA’s mission of advocating for patient safety and excellence in emergency nursing practice through their support of a member or members; an ENA advocate who is often seen but not heard and who donates countless hours to assist an ENA member or members in achieving local, state or national goals.
  • Media Award: recognizes a media presentation (television, radio, internet or print) that portrays emergency nursing in a positive, accurate and professional manner. This presentation may have been created to educate the consumer about emergency nursing/emergency care issues or advocate for issues in emergency nursing/emergency care.
  • State Council/Chapter Government Affairs Award: recognizes an ENA State Council or Chapter for outstanding efforts to increase member involvement in government affairs and advance public policy supporting nursing, safety, health care and/or injury prevention issues
  • Team Award: recognizes a group or committee that has made a significant contribution toward achieving ENA’s mission through the development of a sustainable project or program

2019 Award Recipients

Barbara A. Foley Quality, Safety and Injury Prevention Award
Mary Pargin, MSN, RN, CEN, TCRN

Behind the Scenes Award
Jane Friona, MHSA, BS

Clinical Nurse Specialist Award

Frank L. Cole Nurse Practitioner Award
Nycole Oliver, DNP, RN, APRN, CEN, ACNPC-AG, FNP-C

Gail Lenehan Advocacy Award
Penelope (Penny) Blake, RN, CEN, CCRN

Judith C. Kelleher Award
Matthew F. Powers, MS, BSN, RN, MICP, CEN, FAEN

Lifetime Achievement Award
Kathy Robinson, RN, FAEN

Media Award
Fast Facts for the Triage Nurse: An Orientation and Care Guide, 2nd edition
(Lynn Sayre Visser MSN, RN, PHN, CEN, CPEN
Anna Sivo Montejano, DNP, RN, PHN, CEN)

Nurse Manager Award
Joseph Kennon, RN, EMT-P, CEN, CPEN

Nursing Education Award
Lisa Eckenrode, DNP, MSN, MBA, RN, NRP, TCRN

Nursing Competency in Aging Award
Vicki Patrick, MS, APRN, CEN, ACNP-BC, FAEN

Nursing Practice and Professionalism Award
Christine Gisness, MSN, RN, CEN, FAEN

Pediatric Readiness Improvement Award
Karen Kaskie, BSN, RN, CEN, CPEN, CFRN

Rising Star Award
Kristine Klausing, BSN, RN, CEN, TCRN 

Team Award
Stroke Team Project Committee
(Good Samaritan Hospital, Vincennes, IN)