Record-breaking 53 Emergency Departments Receive ENA Lantern Award

July 12, 2023 Emergency Nurses Association ENA Lantern Award

Established in 2011, the ENA Lantern Award recognizes excellence in emergency departments 

SCHAUMBURG, Ill. (July 12, 2023) – The 2023 class of ENA Lantern Award recipients is the largest since the award was established in 2011, with a total of 53 emergency departments around the world receiving the honor.

“Each and every emergency department on this list has worked extremely hard implementing innovations to better their emergency department for staff and patients alike,” said ENA President Terry Foster, MSN, RN, CEN, CPEN, CCRN, TCRN, FAEN. “Hearing the excitement these EDs had when notified that they were a recipient was so heart-warming and reminded me of the commitment that ED nurses have to continuous improvement.”

The ENA Lantern Award was created to recognize emergency departments demonstrating exceptional and innovative leadership, practice, education, advocacy and research performance. When applying, emergency departments share stories highlighting their commitment to care and the initiatives to improve nursing staff’s well-being. Applications are reviewed and scored by the ENA Lantern Award Committee. The award lasts for a three-year cycle then emergency departments are eligible to apply again.

This year’s recipients are spread throughout the United States, with an emergency department in the United Arab Emirates receiving the award for the second time. Nebraska is also boasting its first Lantern Award recipient with the Children's Hospital & Medical Center Emergency Department in Omaha.

The TriHealth Healthcare System in Ohio can now say that every hospital in its family currently holds the Lantern Award distinction with McCullough-Hyde Memorial Hospital becoming the latest to earn the honor. Other hospitals in the TriHealth Healthcare System include Bethesda Arrow Springs Emergency Department (2020), Good Samaritan Medical Center Western Ridge ED (2020), Bethesda Butler Hospital Emergency Department (2021), Bethesda North Hospital Emergency Department (2022), Good Samaritan Hospital Emergency Department (2022).

The 2023 ENA Lantern Award recipients are:

  • Advocate Sherman Hospital Emergency Department – Elgin, Illinois
  • Atrium Health Carolinas Medical Center Adult Emergency Department – Charlotte, North Carolina
  • Baptist Hospital of Miami Emergency Department – Miami, Florida
  • Bayshore Medical Center, Dr. Robert H. Harris Emergency Care Center – Holmdel, New Jersey
  • Bethesda Arrow Springs Emergency Department – Lebanon, Ohio
  • Cape Coral Hospital Emergency Department – Cape Coral, Florida
  • CentraState Medical Center Emergency Department – Freehold, New Jersey
  • Children's Hospital & Medical Center Emergency Department – Omaha, Nebraska
  • CHOC Children's Hospital - Julia and George Argyros Emergency Department – Orange, California
  • ChristianaCare Wilmington Hospital Emergency Department – Wilmington, Delaware
  • CHRISTUS Children’s Hospital Emergency Department – San Antonio, Texas
  • Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi, Emergency Department – Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
  • Cleveland Clinic Marymount Hospital Emergency Department – Garfield Heights, Ohio
  • Cleveland Clinic Weston Hospital Emergency Department – Weston, Florida
  • El Camino Health, Mountain View Emergency Department – Mountain View, California
  • Froedtert Hospital Emergency Department – Milwaukee, Wisconsin
  • Glen Cove Hospital Emergency Department – Glen Cove, New York
  • Good Samaritan Hospital, Western Ridge Emergency Department – Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Gundersen Health System Emergency Services – La Crosse, Wisconsin
  • HCA Florida Capital Hospital Emergency Department – Main – Tallahassee, Florida
  • Intermountain Medical Center Emergency Department – Murray, Utah
  • Mary Imogene Bassett Hospital Emergency Department – Cooperstown, New York
  • McCullough-Hyde Memorial Hospital Emergency Department – Trihealth – Oxford, Ohio
  • MetroHealth Medical Center Main Campus Emergency Department – Cleveland, Ohio
  • Morristown Medical Center, Sameth Emergency Department – Morristown, New Jersey
  • Nicklaus Children’s Hospital Emergency Department – Miami, Florida
  • Northeast Georgia Medical Center - Barrow Emergency Department – Winder, Georgia
  • Northeast Georgia Medical Center - Gainesville Emergency Department – Gainesville, Georgia
  • Northwestern Medicine Central DuPage Hospital Emergency Department – Winfield, Illinois
  • NYC Health + Hospitals/South Brooklyn Health Emergency Department – Brooklyn, New York
  • NYU Langone Hospital, Brooklyn Emergency Department – Brooklyn, New York
  • NYU Langone Hospital-Long Island, Emergency Department – Mineola, New York
  • Old Bridge Medical Center Emergency Department – Old Bridge, New Jersey
  • Orlando Health South Seminole Hospital Emergency Department – Longwood, Florida
  • Overlook Medical Center Emergency Services, Union Campus, Atlantic Health System – Union, New Jersey
  • Palomar Medical Center Escondido Emergency Department – Escondido, California
  • Piedmont Rockdale Hospital Emergency Department – Conyers, Georgia
  • Raritan Bay Medical Center Emergency Department – Perth Amboy, New Jersey
  • Rose Medical Center Emergency Department – Denver, Colorado
  • Rush University Medical Center Emergency Department – Chicago, Illinois
  • Sharp Grossmont Hospital Emergency Department – La Mesa, California
  • Sharp Memorial Hospital Emergency Department – San Diego, California
  • St. Elizabeth Healthcare Grant County Emergency Department – Williamstown, Kentucky
  • Stanford Health Care - The Marc and Laura Andreessen Emergency Department – Stanford, California
  • Sutter Medical Center, Sacramento, Emergency Services – Sacramento, California
  • The Christ Hospital Medical Center Emergency Department-Liberty Township – Liberty Township, Ohio
  • The Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania Emergency Department – Penn Medicine – Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • The Mount Sinai Hospital Emergency Department – New York, New York
  • UCLA Santa Monica Nethercutt Emergency Medical Center – Santa Monica, California
  • UPMC Hamot Emergency Department – Erie Pennsylvania
  • Vail Health Hospital Emergency Department – Vail, Colorado
  • Washington Regional Medical Center Emergency Department – Fayetteville, AR
  • White Plains Hospital Emergency Department – White Plains, New York

The 2023 ENA Lantern Award recipients will receive a physical award to display in their emergency department as a visible symbol of their commitment to quality, safety and a healthy work environment. Each will be recognized in the Hall of Honor at Emergency Nursing 2023, ENA’s annual conference, in San Diego. Additionally, each emergency department’s award-worthy efforts will be spotlighted in ENA’s member magazine, ENA Connection. Learn more here.



The Emergency Nurses Association is the premier professional nursing association dedicated to defining the future of emergency nursing through advocacy, education, research, innovation, and leadership. Founded in 1970, ENA has proven to be an indispensable resource to the global emergency nursing community. With 50,000 members worldwide, ENA advocates for patient safety, develops industry-leading practice standards and guidelines and guides emergency health care public policy. ENA members have expertise in triage, patient care, disaster preparedness, and all aspects of emergency care. Additional information is available at

ENA Media Contact

Morgan Wietecha

Media Relations Strategist