Emergency Nurses Association Shines Light on 11 Exceptional, Innovative Emergency Departments

June 21, 2016 Awards News
Des Plaines, Ill. (June 21, 2016) – The Emergency Nurses Association today announced eleven emergency departments are receiving the prestigious Lantern Award™. The award recognizes emergency departments that exemplify exceptional practice and innovative performance in the core areas of leadership, practice, education, advocacy and research.
Emergency department patients and their families seek quick access, meaningful interactions with the health care team and a coordinated plan. The Lantern Award serves as a visible symbol to patients that excellence is valued and that exceptional care is provided in the recipient’s emergency department. It illuminates an emergency department’s commitment to quality, safety, presence of a healthy work environment and accomplishment in incorporating evidence-based practice and innovation into exceptional emergency care.
2016 Lantern Award recipients are:
  • Advocate Good Shepherd Hospital Emergency Department / Advocate Healthcare (Barrington, IL)
  • Cleveland Clinic, Akron General Emergency Department (Akron, OH)
  • Bethesda North Hospital Emergency Department/TriHealth (Cincinnati, OH)
  • Children's Healthcare of Atlanta – Scottish Rite (Atlanta, GA)
  • Flower Mound Emergency Center / HCA – Medical Center of Lewisville (Flower Mound, TX)
  • Indiana University Health Methodist Hospital Emergency Medicine and Trauma Center (Indianapolis, IN)
  • Inova Loudoun Hospital Children’s Emergency Department  (Leesburg, VA)
  • Moses H Cone Memorial Hospital Emergency Department/Cone Health (Greensboro, NC)
  • Seattle Children’s Hospital Emergency Department (Seattle, WA)
  • St. Joseph’s Regional Medical Center Emergency Department/St. Joseph's Healthcare System (Paterson, NJ)
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (Iowa City, IA)
“The 2016 Lantern Award recipients have met a rigorous set of standards for excellence,” said ENA president Kathleen E. Carlson, MSN, RN, CEN, FAEN. “We look for the highest level of performance in emergency departments—emergency departments that go above and beyond to ensure quality safe practice and care for their patients.  I congratulate our 2016 Lantern Award recipients for their high commitment to excellence.”
The Lantern Award designation is valid for three years. Emergency departments can then reapply.
Recipients will be recognized at ENA’s Awards Gala on September 17, 2016, during Emergency Nursing 2016 in Los Angeles.
The Lantern Award is named in honor of Florence Nightingale, who is credited with changing nursing from an untrained job to a skilled, science-based profession. She is referred to as the “Lady of the Lamp” for her actions during the Crimean War when she worked deep into the night, bringing a lantern with her as she tended to wounded British soldiers as they slept.

About the Emergency Nurses Association

The Emergency Nurses Association is the premier professional nursing association dedicated to defining the future of emergency nursing through advocacy, education, research, innovation, and leadership. Founded in 1970, ENA has proven to be an indispensable resource to the global emergency nursing community. With more than 50,000 members worldwide, ENA advocates for patient safety, develops industry-leading practice standards and guidelines, and guides emergency healthcare public policy. ENA members have expertise in triage, patient care, disaster preparedness, and all aspects of emergency care. Additional information is available at www.ena.org.

ENA Media Contact:

Dan Campana
Director of Communications