mike_hastings_400x500 Mike Hastings, MSN, RN, CEN, is the 2020 Emergency Nurses Association President.

Hastings has worked in a variety of settings in his career – from rural and urban pre-hospital, to leading Research and Quality for the University of Kansas Hospital Emergency Department, a Level I Trauma/Burn Center in Kansas City, Kansas. He served as a trauma program manager at Dell Children’s Medical Centers of Central Texas, a Level I Trauma Center in Austin, Texas; managed a freestanding emergency department; and is currently clinical manager for Swedish Edmonds Emergency Department in Edmonds, Washington.

Hastings joined ENA in 2004 after nursing school and has been actively involved at the local, state and national level. He served as the 2011 Kansas ENA State Council President-elect; 2012 Kansas ENA State Council President; 2012-15 ENA Leadership Planning Conference committee member; 2015 Austin chapter President-elect; 2015 Texas ENA State Council Secretary-elect; 2014-15 Texas Professional Education Chairperson; and Emergency Nursing 2015 Annual Conference Planning Committee member. He also was appointed through the U.S. Department of Transportation to represent emergency nursing on the National EMS Advisory Council from 2012-2018.

Hastings earned his bachelor’s degree in criminal justice from Central Missouri State University. He later attended Baker University in Baldwin, Kansas, where he earned his bachelor’s in nursing. He later received his master’s in nursing focused on organizational development from the University of Kansas. In 2015, he received the Early Career Achievement in Nursing Alumnus Award from The University of Kansas Medical Center. In 2017, he was recognized as March of Dimes Nurse of the Year for Patient Advocacy in the state of Washington. He is a certified emergency nurse.

Term as President: January 2020-December 2020 
Term as President-Elect: January 2019-December 2019 
Term as Secretary/Treasurer: January 2018-December 2018 
Term as Director: January 2016-December 2017

To reach Mike, please contact him at mike.hastings@ena.org