karla_nygren_400x500Karla Nygren, BSN, RN, CEN, CFRN, CPEN, TCRN, CCRN, CPN, serves on the Emergency Nurses Association (ENA) Board of Directors. ENA is the specialty nursing association serving the emergency nursing profession through research, publications, professional development, and emphasis on quality and patient safety.

Nygren began her career in emergency care as a volunteer EMT while attending nursing school. Graduating with a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from Mount Marty College, she has experience as a flight nurse and ICU nurse, but has worked primarily as an emergency nurse throughout her career. She currently works as a staff ED nurse and patient care supervisor at Avera McKennan Hospital in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

Nygren joined ENA in 2003. She has held roles at the local and state level, most recently as South Dakota ENA State Council President from 2013–2016. She served as Chairperson of the South Dakota ENA State Council media communications, social media, and membership committees. She was a General Assembly delegate in 2011 and from 2013–2016. Nygren served on the 2016 Executive Director Search Committee at the national level. She participated in national focus groups and presented both poster and stage presentations at ENA’s annual conference.

Nygren served on the Pediatric Nursing Certification Board as the CPEN member at large. She represents emergency nursing on the South Dakota EMS for Children Advisory Council. She has served the BCEN and PNCB on various certification exam committees.

Nygren is currently enrolled in the MSN/MBA program at the University of Mary, Bismarck, North Dakota. She is a member of Sigma Theta Tau, the international nursing honors society, and was the recipient of the 2016 ENA Foundation Judith C Kelleher Memorial Scholarship.

Term as Director: January 2017-December 2019

Working to promote safe practice and safe care.