Montana

RN and DR Title Protection Law


Statute/Regulation:

MT CODE § 37-8-408

Relevant Text: 

It is a misdemeanor for a person, including a corporation, association, or individual, to use in connection with the person's name any designation tending to imply that the person is a registered professional nurse or a licensed practical nurse unless licensed to practice. The misdemeanor is punishable by a fine of not less than $100 for the first offense. Each subsequent offense is punishable by a fine of $300, by imprisonment of not more than 6 months in the county jail, or both.

Status:

Effective


Workplace Violence Laws


Statute/Regulation:

MT CODE § 45-5-214

Relevant Text: 

A person commits the offense of assault with a bodily fluid if the person purposely causes one of the person’s bodily fluids to make physical contact with a health care provider, while the health care provider is acting in the course and scope of their profession and occupation:

(i) during or after an arrest for a criminal offense;
(ii) while the person is incarcerated in or being transported to or from a prison, jail, detention facility, or a health care facility; or
(iii) if the person is a minor, while the youth is detained in or being transported to or from a jail or detention facility, state youth correctional facility, health care facility, or shelter care facility; or (b) an emergency responder.

 (2) A person convicted of the offense of assault with a bodily fluid shall be fined an amount not to exceed $1,000 or incarcerated in a county jail or a state prison for a term not to exceed 1 year, or both.

Status:

Effective


Statute/Regulation:

MT House Bill NO.269 by K. Swanson

Relevant Text: 

Assault on a health care provider or emergency responder -- penalty -- definitions
(1) A person commits the offense of assault on a health care provider or emergency responder if, while a health care provider or emergency responder is performing professional duties, the person:

(a) purposely or knowingly causes bodily injury to the health care provider or emergency responder

(b) negligently causes bodily injury to the health care provider or emergency responder with a weapon;

(c) purposely or knowingly causes the health care provider or emergency responder reasonable apprehension of bodily injury.

(2) A person convicted of assault on a health care provider or emergency responder shall be fined an amount not to exceed $50,000 or be imprisoned for a term not to exceed 10 years, or both.

Status:

Effective


RN Procedural Sedation Rules


Statute/Rule:


Relevant Text: 

The Board of Nursing adopts the position that it is within the scope of practice of a non-anesthetist registered nurse to administer IV conscious sedation medication under a physician's order.

Agency

Montana Board of Nursing